Road Ends Ahead: Reflections on Aging and the Outdoor Lifestyle

Road Ends Ahead: Reflections on Aging and the Outdoor LifestyleI’m getting older.  I’m slowing down.  I can’t do everything I used to.  And as the steamroller of old age continues its relentless advance, there’s not much I can do about it.  Except bitch a little.  And write.

When I realized that many of the outdoor stories I’ve been writing over the last three or so years are about aging and how it’s changing my perspective on life and the outdoors, I half-joked joked with my friend Mike about possibly compiling them into a short book about aging and the outdoors.  The conversation quickly devolved into a discussion of catchy titles for the collection.  Some of my ideas included:

  • Rest Home for Climbers
  • The Last Mile
  • Stick a Fork In Me, I’m Done
  • Over the “Hill”
  • Old Man and the Trees
  • Bury Me at Plastic Knee

After much rumination, I settled on “Road Ends Ahead.”  It should be available in all the usual formats, in all the usual places, by the middle of September 2013. [Update: available now — Paperback | Kindle | NOOK | iPad]

Mike suggested I title the book “Adventures in Alzheimer’s,” which seemed a little premature.  Perhaps I’ll save that title for the next book, if I can remember it…

Leave a Reply

